What a Pack of Blue Faced Liars

Robert Waldmann

A courageously anonymous blue dog explains to Shailagh Murray and Paul Kanewhy they are blocking health care reform

several dozen anxious House Democrats who are wary of the more liberal course their leaders have taken on health care. Feeling burned by a tough vote on climate-change legislation that is languishing in the Senate,

What a pile of Bulldog Sh*t. Most blue dogs voted against H.R.2454, that is, Cap and Trade. Only 17 of 52 voted yes, 34 voted no and one didn’t vote at all.

Diatribe and documentation after the jump

The vote enabled them to reassure their constituents that they are on the side of global warming. If they let the bill reach the floor, they can reassure their constituents that they support keeping the uninsured uninsured too.

What they mean is that they could have blocked Waxman Markey in committee (it was marked up by the energy and commerce committee) and only demanded that it be 80% giveaway in exchange for graciously allowing a floor vote.

This tells us three things. First US legislators are acting as if it is a gesture of support to allow an up or down vote, and as if it is normal to use parliamentary tricks to thwart the majority in their house. Second it shows they mean “special interest contributors” when they say “constituents;” It is obvious that ordinary voters do not even check the roll call (as I did) let alone keep track of parliamentary tactics. Third it means they don’t want any compromise at all in energy and commerce. They had a huge impact on Cap and trade and are still complaining.

Of course the fact that they haven’t presented an alternative plan (and couldn’t) and make contradictory demands, makes it clear that they want the issue to just go away. For sure they don’t just want to keep their hands untainted by reform, because they were outraged at the possibility of a vote on the bill already reported out with no input from energy and commerce.

This means that most of them could just vote no again (they can take turns voting yes or they can wait until there are 218 yes votes before they vote no as they did on Waxman Markey). They don’t want cover. They want attention. They aren’t even hacks they are immature egocentric egomaniacs.

Here is the annotated blue dog caucus. The caucus is from Melancon’s site. The votes are from the official roll call.

By the way, Rep Melancon (???-LA) might want to brush up on his arithmetic as his site says “Currently there are 51 members of the Blue Dog Coalition.” and provides a link to a list of 52 names.

Also he wants to be a senator, so he is vulnerable to pressure. It’s important that at least some of the pressure comes from the left. Obviously no angrybears are going to support diaper Dave Vitter (now Sotrmy Daniels is another matter hmmm) but a contest on the Democratic side is possible.

We have Erick LeFleur whose main accomplishment is a shoot to kill to defend your homestead bill supported by the NRA (NO).
Chris John, lost to Vitter six years ago. Currently top lobbyist for The Louisiana Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association (NO)
J.M “Jim” Bernhard Jr who appears to be CEO of the Shaw Group construction company which appears to be under investigation by the SEC (Definitely no)

Rats. Looks like the only way I can put pressure on Rep[rehensible] Melancon is to send money to Stormy Daniels without even getting a DVD in return (I have never watched a Stormy Daniels DVD and would watch them only to learn about her policy positions).

Blue dogs

Blue Dog Members votes on H.R. 2454 = American Clean Energy and Security Act = Waxman-Markey = Cap and Trade
“n” means no “y” means yes “a” means did not vote

17 y 1 a 34 n

Altmire, Jason (PA-04) n = voted no on hr2454
Arcuri, Mike (NY-24) n
Baca, Joe (CA-43) not n
Barrow, John (GA-12) n
Berry, Marion (AR-01) n
Bishop, Sanford (GA-02) y = voted yes on hr2454
Boren, Dan (OK-02) n
Boswell, Leonard (IA-03) y
Boyd, Allen (FL-02) y
Bright, Bobby (AL-02) n
Cardoza, Dennis (CA-18) y
Carney, Christopher (PA-10) n
Chandler, Ben (KY-06) y
Childers, Travis (MS-01) n
Cooper, Jim (TN-05) y
Costa, Jim (CA-20) n
Cuellar, Henry (TX-28) a means no vote on hr2454
Dahlkemper, Kathy (PA-03) n
Davis, Lincoln (TN-04) n
Donnelly, Joe (IN-02) n
Ellsworth, Brad (IN-08) n
Giffords, Gabrielle (AZ-08) y
Gordon, Bart (TN-06) y
Griffith, Parker (AL-05) n
Harman, Jane (CA-36) y
Herseth Sandlin, Stephanie (SD) n
Hill, Baron (IN-09) n
Holden, Tim (PA-17) n
Kratovil, Jr., Frank (MD-01) y
McIntyre, Mike (NC-07) n
Marshall, Jim (GA-03) n
Matheson, Jim (UT-02) n
Melancon, Charlie (LA-03) n
Michaud, Mike (ME-02) n
Minnick, Walt (ID-01) n
Mitchell, Harry (AZ-05) n
Moore, Dennis (KS-03) y
Murphy, Patrick (PA-08) n
Nye, Glenn (VA-02) n
Peterson, Collin (MN-07) y
Pomeroy, Earl (ND) n
Ross, Mike (AR-04) n
Salazar, John (CO-03) n
Sanchez, Loretta (CA-47) y
Schiff, Adam (CA-29) y
Scott, David (GA-13) y
Shuler, Heath (NC-11) n
Space, Zack (OH-18) y
Tanner, John (TN-08) n
Taylor, Gene (MS-04) n
Thompson, Mike (CA-01) y
Wilson, Charles (OH-06) n