Relevant and even prescient commentary on news, politics and the economy.

Strangely, CATO missed the AZ, IN, and MS budget crises

CATO was making much hay a few days ago about budget problems in California, New York, and New Jersey, which can be explained, respectively, by the Governor’s veto of an Assembly-passed budget a few months ago, the decline in tax revenues from financial services firms and continuing loss of upstate industry, and underfunded pension obligations whose origins date back to Christie’s cocaine-inspired budgets of the mid-1990s.

Strangely (via Dr. Black), they missed the crises in a few other states, most especially including the state governed by Republic hero Mitch Daniels:

Republican Gov. Mitch Daniels has warned residents that most of the state’s services — including its parks, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles and state-regulated casinos — would be shuttered unless a budget is passed today.

Closing down the casinos? Now that is extreme.

Mitch Daniels, doing for my old home state what he did for the country.

Tags: , , , , , Comments (0) | |

Fiscal Responsibility Summit: Guest List

Fiscal Responsibility Summit Attendees: (noted without comment. Except for those of us who follow
Social Security-Dean Baker made the cut)

Secretary of the Treasury, Tim Geithner
Secretary of Transportation, Ray LaHood
Secretary of Homeland Security, Janet Napolitano
Deputy Secretary of State, Jack Lew
Treasury Department, Gene Sperling

White House Chief of Staff, Rahm Emanuel
OMB Director, Peter Orszag
National Economic Council, Larry Summers
Domestic Policy Council, Melody Barnes
Council on Economic Advisors, Christina Romer
Deputy OMB Director, Rob Nabors


Senator Mitch McConnell (R), Minority Leader – will not join break-out sessions
Senator Dick Durbin (D), Assistant Majority Leader
Senator Jon Kyl (R), Assistant Minority Leader – arriving at 2:30
Senator Lamar Alexander (R), Republican Conference Chairman
Senator John Cornyn (R), Chairman, National Republican Senatorial Committee

Other Senators (in alphabetical order with Chairs and Ranking Members noted)
Senator Evan Bayh (D)
Senator Max Baucus (D), Chairman of Committee on Finance
Senator Tom Carper (D)
Senator Thad Cochran (R), Ranking Member of Committee on Appropriations
Senator Susan Collins (R), Ranking Member of Committee on Homeland Security
Senator Kent Conrad (D), Chairman of Committee on the Budget
Senator Chris Dodd (D), Chairman of Committee on Banking, Ranking Democrat on HELP
Senator Mike Enzi (R), Ranking Member of Committee on HELP
Senator Lindsey Graham (R)
Senator Judd Gregg (R), Ranking Member of Committee on Budget
Senator Daniel Inouye (D), Chairman of Committee on Appropriations
Senator Amy Klobuchar (D)
Senator Carl Levin (D), Chairman of Committee on Armed Services
Senator Joseph Lieberman (D), Chairman of Committee on Homeland Security
Senator John McCain (R), Ranking Member of Committee on Armed Services
Senator Claire McCaskill (D)
Senator Ben Nelson (D)
Senator Olympia Snowe (R), Ranking Member of Small Business Committee
Senator Arlen Specter (R), Ranking Member of Judiciary Committee


The Honorable Nancy Pelosi (D), Speaker of the House of Representatives (will not join breakout sessions)
The Honorable Steny H. Hoyer (D), Majority Leader
The Honorable John A. Boehner (R), Minority Leader
The Honorable James E. Clyburn (D), Majority Whip
The Honorable Eric Cantor (R), Minority Whip
The Honorable Thaddeus G. McCotter (R), Chairman of the Republican Policy Committee
The Honorable Chris Van Hollen (D), Chairman of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee

Other Members (in alphabetical order with Chairs and Ranking Members noted)
The Honorable Joe Barton (R), Ranking Member of the Committee on Energy and Commerce
The Honorable Allen Boyd (D)
The Honorable Dave Camp (R), Ranking Member of the Committee on Ways and Means
The Honorable Michael N. Castle (R)
The Honorable Raúl M. Grijalva (D)
The Honorable Darrell E. Issa (R), Ranking Member the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform
The Honorable Ron Kind (D)
The Honorable Barbara Lee (D), Chairwoman of the Congressional Black Caucus,
The Honorable Jim Matheson (D)
The Honorable George Miller (D), Chairman of the Committee on Education and Labor
The Honorable David R. Obey (D), Chairman of the Committee on Appropriations
The Honorable David E. Price (D) – late arrival – approx 1:30/2:00 PM
The Honorable Tom Price (R), Chairman of the Republican Study Committee
The Honorable Charles B. Rangel (D), Chairman of the Committee on Ways and Means
The Honorable Paul Ryan (R), Ranking Member of the Committee on the Budget
The Honorable Stephanie Herseth Sandlin (D), Chairwoman of the Blue Dog Coalition
The Honorable John M. Spratt (D), Chairman of Committee on the Budget
The Honorable John S. Tanner (D)
The Honorable Ellen O. Tauscher (D)
The Honorable Edolphus Towns (D), Chairman of the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform
The Honorable Nydia M. Velazquez (D), Chairwoman of the Committee on Small Business
The Honorable Henry A. Waxman (D), Chairman of the Committee on Energy and Commerce

Community Leaders and Stakeholders Also Attending

(in alphabetical order by organization name)

Bill Novelli, AARP
John Gage, AFGE
John Sweeney, AFL-CIO
Gerry McEntee, AFSCME
Randi Weingarten, AFT
Ed Coyle, Alliance for Retired Americans
Kevin Hassitt, American Enterprise Institute
Richard Umbdenstock, American Hospital Association
Nancy Neilson , American Medical Association
Becky Patton, American Nurses Association
Karen Narasaki, Asian American Justice Center (AAJC)
Dr. Ho Tran, Asian Pacific Islanders American Health Forum (APIAHF)
Gary Flowers, Black Leadership Forum
Eleanor Hinton Hoytt, Black Women’s Health Imperative
Alice Rivlin, Brookings Institution
John Castellani, Business Roundtable
Roger Hickey, Campaign for America’s Future
John Podesta, Center for American Progress
Larry Korb, Center for American Progress
Dean Baker, Center for Economic and Policy Research
Joe Minarek, Center for Economic Development
Robert Greenstein, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
Anna Burger, Change to Win
Maya MacGuinneas, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget
Karen Davis, Common Wealth Fund
Bob Bixby, Concord Coalition
Maya Rockeymoore, Congressional Black Caucus Foundation
Doug Elmendorf, Congressional Budget Office
Marty Ford, Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities
Lawrence Mishel, Economic Policy Institute
Ron Pollack, Families USA
Ellie Smeal, Feminist Majority
Stewart Butler, Heritage Foundation
Bill Spriggs, Howard University
Joe Salomonese, Human Rights Campaign
John Cavanagh, Institue for Policy Studies
Heidi Hartmann, Institute for Women’s Policy
Drew Altman, Kaiser Family Foundation
Douglas Holtz-Eakin, McCain Economic Advisor
Hilary Shelton, NAACP
Todd Stottlemyer, National Association of Independent Businesses
Barbara B. Kennelly, National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare
Jackie Johnson Pata, National Congress of American Indians
Janet Murguia, National Council of La Raza
Marc Morial, National Urban League (NY)
Dennis Van Roekel, NEA
David Walker, Peter G. Peterson Foundation
Peter Peterson, Peter G. Peterson Foundation
Al From, Progressive Policy Institute
Andy Stern, SEIU
Fred Goldberg, Skadden
Roger Ferguson, TIAA-CREF CEO
Martin Regalia, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Fernando Torres-Gil, UCLA
Robert Reischauer, Urban Institute
Michael Graetz, Yale

Tags: Comments (0) | |